World Series of Poker - Johnny Moss & Johnny Chan WSOP Legends


Johnny Moss Poker Legend!

World Series of Poker, a highly prestigious event, officially began in 1970. However, its history dates back to 1949, when Benny Binion arranged a high-stakes poker tournament between Nicholas 'Nick the Greek' Dandolos and Johnny Moss. Twenty years later, the first World Series of Poker was held at Binion's Horseshoe Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. In 2005, the World Series of Poker Tournaments were held at the Rio Las Vegas, hosted by Harrah's, with the final two games for the championship played once again at Binion's.

There are a number of poker games played in the World Series of Poker tournaments, including Texas Holdem, Omaha, Razz, and Stud, as well as Lowball and Hi-Low split. In 2005, the World Series of Poker had 45 tournaments, with over 6,000 entries and a prize pool of $60 million for the final championship game, No Limit Texas Holdem. Joseph Hachem, a professional poker player from Australia, won first place with over $7 million, as well as the cherished gold bracelet. In 2004, the final World Series of Poker championship, a no-limit Texas Holdem game, had 2,576 entries and a record-setting first-place prize of $5 million.

Win your seat into the next World Series of Poker or World Poker Tour event by joining Bovada Poker and playing in a satellite tournament (Win one of twelve $12K WSOP Main Event Packages (May 4 to June 7)!

World Series of Poker individual tournaments are open to anyone who can pay the entry fee or buy-in of $1,000 to $5,000. Players can also get into the championship tournament by winning World Series of Poker tournaments, which are held at various casinos, and earning points for the buy-in of $10,000. Each of these tournament winners receives a gold bracelet for first place, which is often valued more highly by the players than the cash prizes.

Some of the most famous professionals in poker history have played in the World Series of Poker, including Johnny Moss, the first-time winner, Johnny Chan, Doyle Brunson, Chris Ferguson, Billy Baxter, and Phil "Poker Brat" Hellmuth, Jr., the youngest player to win the championship game. T.J. Cloutier has been a top money winner in over 30 World Series of Poker tournaments and has won five first-place gold bracelets. Recently, however, the World Series of Poker has also attracted many younger amateur poker players and in 2004, Greg "Fossilman" Raymer, a patent attorney, won the championship in the World Series of Poker.

World Series of Poker is filled with drama and suspense and televised games have enhanced its worldwide popularity. As it continues to attract more and more players and award even larger cash prizes, the World Series of Poker will become more exciting than ever before.


by Bones McCoy at on February 16, 2006

More World Series of Poker - 2014 WSOP

Poker Tips and Strategies


Offshore Poker Room

© 2006-2014. All rights reserved.